Marubeni India launched "Marubeni India Meritorious Scholarship Program" as a part of its CSR project



[Commemorative Photo with the Scholarship winners and CSR Team of Marubeni India]

Marubeni India is committed to encourage Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) projects in various parts of India. Illustrative of this commitment, "The Marubeni India Meritorious scholarship Program" was successfully launched in December, 2016. The program encompassed financial aid offering that supported higher education to meritorious students among under-represented groups & whose family income was less than INR 200,000 per annum.

The project was led by Mr. Taro Nakamura, Mr. Isamu Sasaki, Mr. Daigo Odawara, Mr. Ranjit Ahluwalia, Mr. Kshitij Kumar and supported by an efficient team of Japanese and National staff members as volunteers from Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Goa Office.

The final 100 meritorious students were selected out of more than 1,900 applications after thorough knowledge and need assessment. Each student was awarded with the financial aid of INR 40,000 to support their higher education in a formal scholarship distribution ceremony held on March 20, 2017. The ceremony was marked with the presence of Deputy Chief Minister and Minister of Education of Delhi state, Mr. Manish Sisodia as the chief guest who also addressed the gathering with his motivating speech and Mr. Gaurav Jhunjhunwala, Director on Board of S Chand Group.





[Left] Chief Guest , Mr. Manish Sisodia – Deputy Chief Minister & Minister for Education of Delhi State with Mr. Ichiro Tsuzuku, Chairman & Manging Director, Marubeni India.

[Right] Mr. Manish Sisodia with Mr. Anil Sharma Executive Officer, Marubeni India.

"This scholarship is about changing lives and improving society. I am sure that these students will continue to maintain a high standard of academic performance and achieve excellence," said Mr. Ichiro Tsuzuku, Chairman & Managing Director and Chairman, CSR Committee, Marubeni India Private Limited.





[Left], Lamp Enlightening ceremony by the Chief Guest & other distinguished guests.

[Right] Mr. Anil Sharma, Mr. Ichiro Tsuzuku, Mr. Manish Sisodia, Mr. Gaurav Jhunjhunwala, Mr. Manasvi Singh.